Loose Ends

Well, things must be on an even keel since I haven’t posted in a few months. I have certainly composed many posts in my head but never seem to get them written.  I have been at the SC condo for the past few months escaping from the New England winter.  I am lucky to be able to work anywhere.  The condo is where Gary first experienced symptoms of his esophageal cancer.  It was his loose end.

During his illness Gary always told me that he wasn’t going anywhere until he finished the condo – it was his loose end that he was determined to complete. Unfortunately, I think his determined attitude is what weakened him and allowed the pneumonia to overwhelm him.  Gary tried so hard to ignore his weakness and continued to do all of the tasks that he possibly could. He probably pushed himself too hard.  But, there’s no need to go into the “what if’s” again. They could haunt me forever if I let them.

I took up the reins to get the condo completed (we bought it unfinished in early 2012).  I followed Gary’s vision as much as possible and I think he would be pleased.  The last piece was the replacement staircase that he had designed. It is a metal staircase with 2″ maple treads.  Gary had ordered all of the pieces and made the treads during the summer of 2013. The parts were up in our MA home and the treads were not coated with urethane.

My friends drove the parts down last April.  Another friend helped me router the edges of the treads and showed me how to sand and finish them.  I completed that job last fall and drove the treads down after Thanksgiving.  The contractor finished installing them in February.  Gary’s loose end is complete. I think I captured his vision.  Hopefully he approves and can rest easier.

_DSC2782_DSC2779

 


4 responses to “Loose Ends

Leave a comment